- 7 beautiful log buildings spread over 4 acres
- Listed in the National Register of Historic Places
- Interpretive displays depicting the history of Central Idaho
- Guided tours available
- Educational fun for the whole family
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Central Idaho Historical Museum is a must see during your time in McCall. Spread over a four acre parcel of land in downtown McCall, the museum is comprised of seven log buildings. They were constructed in the late 1930s under the supervision of Finnish carpenters. Filled with fascinating relics and interpretive displays, this museum provides an educational and fun peak into the history of central Idaho.
The museum is located on State Street in McCall across from the hospital. The address is: Central Idaho Historical Museum, 1001 State St., McCall, ID 83638. For more information call 208-634-4497.
Hours & Season
The museum is open June through August from 11am to 3 pm each week, Wednesday through Saturday. House Tours start at 1:30 pm.
Guided tours are available for $3 per person.
History and Highlights
The buildings that house the museum were originally built back in the 1930s by the Civilian Construction Corps. Their initial purpose was to house the Southern Idaho Timber Protective Association, which they did until 1992. The city of McCall took over the property at that time and turned it into a museum. The museum includes interpretive displays that depict how natural resources and their use have played a significant role in Central Idaho’s development over the years.
Exhibits include the Murray-Corliss, a 64 thousand pound steam engine built in the late 1800s; an Aeromotor cab and tower that originally stood on Sloan Point; the Fire Warden’s house; a 6-foot bronze statue called “The Worker”, honoring the memory of the Civilian Conservation Corps; and a bona fide fire lookout tower.